Firearm Forums - Arms Locker banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,927 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm planning on building my first personal use AR in the comming 2005 year. I've had some experience with AR construction with friends ARs and I do home-gunsmithing on shotguns and bolt action rifles. This will be my first assault rifle project but I feel confident on building it myself and I trust myself to seek advice as needed. I anticipate going through the proper procedures for a class III liscence to make it fully automatic with a selector switch (safe/single/auto trigger group)and a stamp for a silencer. I also plan to use 30 rounders, an adjustable M4 type stock, and a rail system. Most definately a performance carbine setup, not a full M16 size and certainly not a CAR15 POS. However I am stuck bvetween two cartriges.

Enter, the 6.8 SPC and 6.5 Grendel

At first I was feeling really good about going with a 6.8 rig until recently when I heard the 6.5 may be even better, but I cannot find any conclusive proof to show any victor in the performance race. I am looking for the combination of consistent accuracy and terminal performance. I doubt I'll ever use the thing past 300 yards. 1.5 MOA @ 100 would be acceptable, 2 MOA would not be. I know Barret's 6.8 can perform 1 MOA out of their setup given to review at gunblast.com due to the reviewer's pictures. I have also heard that te Army is considering upping the M249 SAW to 6.5 Grendel in the near future due to the weight/performance tradeoff that it needs to stop these hajis on khat. If the 6.5 can perform even a small percent better than the 6.8 I will go with the Grendel.