Arms Locker banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new at AR's, and was hoping to get a better understanding of what I need to do to keep the gas system clean and or how to clean it, materials etc.

Any advice?

Thanks,
Jim

·
Registered
2,927 Posts
Pipe Cleaners, carbon solvent, and a can of Duster does the trick fast.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Cool thanks:) The reason I was asking was mainly because I got a .22 CMMG Converstion kit, and I've heard that you gas tube and buffer tube get pretty gumed up. So you're saying that that stuff would work well for both?

Thanks,
Jim

·
Registered
9,611 Posts
I gummed up my AR gas tube years ago to a point that I had a single shot AR. After solvent, 12" pipe cleaners and canned air, I still had to fire 20 rds of quality 5.56mm though the rifle so it would function properly. That is why I bought a dedicated upper for my AR!

·
Registered
9,117 Posts
That's bs, as is usual from you. Just fire 3-4 rds of 223 thru it, for every 200-300 rds of .22lr,and fouling will NEVER be a problem. I've never had 223 fouling be an issue, except in the bore, for match type shooting. Keep the gun "wet" with WD-40 and it just keeps on shooting. MANY thousands of rds.

·
Registered
9,611 Posts
That's bs, as is usual from you. Just fire 3-4 rds of 223 thru it, for every 200-300 rds of .22lr,and fouling will NEVER be a problem. I've never had 223 fouling be an issue, except in the bore, for match type shooting. Keep the gun "wet" with WD-40 and it just keeps on shooting. MANY thousands of rds.