Firearm Forums - Arms Locker banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. I am fairly new to rifle statistics and not sure of which bullets are the best for gun and bore combinations. So i was wondering which bullet would you guys suggest for a 270 Mossberg 100ATR. I am going to be using it for semilong range shots on southeaster whitetail. I really have no idea what brands i should stay away from and what shoots well in the 270. Please help....... Thank you!

·
Registered
4,648 Posts
Part of the answer is going to depend on you and how much effort you're willing to put into the exercise.

I'm going to assume you will not be handloading. If you are, then let me know and the discussion changes a lot.

What do you consider to be semi-long? In the east, some might consider a 200yd shot to be long. Here in the west, it's in the average category. Simply because of terrain and climate.

Your particular rifle will probably like some bullet wt / manufacturer combinations that an identical rifle might not like.

I'd think you'd be looking at 130 - 140 grainers.

If you don't mind spending the $$, then try the failsafe, or some other premium loading. Otherwise, if your rifle shoots it well, and you put the round where it belongs, then the animal won't argue with you over who's bullet you were using.

My problem is two fold: 1) I don't own a .270 - though I do own a .280 and 2) I handload, and haven't bought factory hunting ammo in a long time.

Don't know if my answer was of any use to you or not, but let me know if I can clarify or point you in a specific direction

:devil:

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Im not going to be handloading. I am jsut going to be buying over the counter. I just want to know what brands should i stay away from and what ones are good or what kind or things should i look for to determine a good bullet?

·
Registered
2,014 Posts
Flyride said: