Firearm Forums - Arms Locker banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Forum Moderator
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've never been hunting but at some point would like to (after taking a course of course).

My question is, what type/model of rifle have any of you found to work best? What level of optics?

Again I'm just getting started in looking into the world of hunting, so if I'm leaving out needed info let me know.

·
Registered
19 Posts
You have to take into consideration terrain, range.

In open country I like a bolt action rifle with at least a 3-9x40 scope for longer ranges I would go with a 4-x12 or 4-16x40.

If your hunting in dense thick brush a fast repeating action is best ( lever, pump or semi-auto)for optics a 3-9x40 scope on low 3 power will work fine or open sights.

For scopes I've had good luck with Nikon and Leupold.

For bolt action rifles I like Weatherby Vanguards and Savage's

I don't really have a opinion on repeaters, I would recommend a semi-auto to be based on a military action.

As for caliber selection I'll leave that for someone else.

Hope this help you out.

·
Forum Moderator
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Very cool, thanks for the response. The more info tossed my way the better so please keep the info coming.

·
Registered
675 Posts
For a caliber, the 30.06 is very popular, and also available just about everywhere. The .308 is another that is popular, and available just about everywhere..(I am speaking of ammo)
Quite a bit depends upon where you will be hunting.. I like the 30 cal myself, but, if you are hunting deer, you don't even need a gun, you can use your car, just find a long road in the forest.. Just kidding of course..
The 223 will work fine on deer, but again, in my opinion, it is a little to light. Then again, most things die when shot in the head..
If you are looking for a flat shooting rifle, then look at the higher velocity rounds.(magnums)

·
Registered
432 Posts