Firearm Forums - Arms Locker banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok here's the problem. I need a good gun for my wife. I am a Firefighter so I work 24hr on 48 off. I also work Part-time as a Deputy Sheriff.

My problem is that my wife gets freaked out when I am gone and she wants a gun.

I have showed her how to fire all my guns (I have alot) and she doesn't feel comfortable due to the size and kick of some of my guns.

I was thinking a .380 maybe...what are your guys opinions.

p.s. My wife is 5'3" and about 110lbs....so not alot to back up a large caliber.

·
Site Founder
4,814 Posts
Lots of options here!

My wife really likes the H&K P7 out of all she has tried, but will also use the Kahr 9mm. She also likes the S&W Airweight .38 special I carry, but she prefers the black ones over my titanium looking gun.

The Kahr 9mm is very small for a 9mm, actually as small or smaller than most .380s I have seen. I guess a lot depends on whether she is more comfortable with a revolver than a semi-auto. Generally in a high stress situation, the less complicated the gun, the better. So you probably want a gun for her that she can just pick up, aim, and squeeze the trigger.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have tried to get her to use my .38 Chief Special...she doesn't like it.

I agree the less complicated the better! I think I may go with a revolver...I will have to drag her out to the gun shop soon.

·
Registered
2,014 Posts