Firearm Forums - Arms Locker banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
720 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been a photographer all my adult life. Was a PH in the Navy, got a degree in Illustrative Photography from Brooks Institute, freelanced for twenty years, was hired by a corporation three years ago, got downsized in June and am again a freelancer. When I was downsized, I knew I was going to miss the weekly check and the benefits, so I cast about for new jobs, applying to many things that interest me including state jobs for Tennessee. Apparently I have been accepted to test for State Trooper.
This is kinda interesting to me, the independent nature of the job, firearms being integral, lotsa stick time on the road, etcetera.
Now, should I pursue this what's being a 51 year old State Trooper recruit gonna be like, I wonder?
SatCong

·
Registered
10,279 Posts
Being a State Trooper is pretty cool and I'll bet the pay is good too. I'm not sure that being 51 years makes a lot of difference. Congrats on the job offer.

:beer:

RIKA

·
Registered
1,484 Posts
Sounds like a good opurtunity.Unless you have to move that is.

So,you gonna change your name to Smokey now?:)

·
Registered
1,690 Posts
SatCong said:
Now, should I pursue this what's being a 51 year old State Trooper recruit gonna be like, I wonder?
SatCong
At your age, they probably won't let you drive the patrol car at night. :dgrin:

Seriously, that's great news. Go after it and post a diary of sorts here.

·
Registered
1,805 Posts
Good luck Sat whatever you decide.

·
Registered
611 Posts
I think you should do it, America needs more good law enforcement officers. My parents have actually been trying to convince me to become a cop.

·
Premium Member
1,118 Posts
I hope to retire before 51, but I wish youall the best if you go for it. If you are in good physical shape it would probably be a fairly easy academy. They do tend to make the physical stuff amenable to the younger bucks though. Good luck.

·
Registered