Firearm Forums - Arms Locker banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Mosin Nagant????????????

I have “need” to buy another gun ( I’m sure all yall get the feeling) and got to think about a old military surplus bolt action I am really new to surplus guns and know very little about them. I want a gun that can take a beating. I also like simple guns. So here are some questions I have.

Is the mosin a reliable gun?
Are they safe.?
How is the accuracy?
Are they good for hunting?
Is ammo easy to find?
And last what modal should I get?

I was looking at a Russian M91/30 Mosin Nagant for $75 is that a good deal.

Thanks, :)

·
Registered
1,944 Posts
I'd get the M44, it's a shorter, handier rifle.

·
Registered
5,890 Posts
Gun_crazy_JR said:
I want a gun that can take a beating. I also like simple guns.
Both describe the Mosin.

Is the mosin a reliable gun?
Very. They operate well in sub tropical to arctic environments.

Are they safe.?
Pretty much. Haven't had one out of spec yet. Generally, they are overbuilt and tough as nails

How is the accuracy?
Generally 2-4 MOA. Bring a bore light and checke the bore. Some come with very good bores and shoot well.

Are they good for hunting?
Absolutely. Shot two hogs this year with the Barnaul 203-gr Sp ammo and they went right down.

Is ammo easy to find?
Fairly, most gun shops will have new Wolf or Barnaul ammo, Mil-surp is plentiful. Czech 147-gr Silvertip is very good ammo, it is steel-core AP ammo, and some ranges don't allow it. Standard ball ammo is also available as is heavy ball.

And last what modal should I get?
I was looking at a Russian M91/30 Mosin Nagant for $75 is that a good deal.
From a gun shop? Check it out. If it's in good condition with a good bore, that's a good deal.

The 91/30s are long rifles. If you can stand a decent sized rifle, these are great, and you'll probably get your best accuracy from them. They also use a real mean 17" bayonet.