Firearm Forums - Arms Locker banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
10,277 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Many of us reload and shoot a wide variety of obsolete or wildcat cartridges, are they a common sense approach for a SHTF gun? About 4 years ago, I started shooting .38-55 in competition, this cartridge was first produced in the 1880's. I've manage to purchase about 350 pieces of brass for my rifle. I know 4 other shooters in town that cast .38-55 bullets, but I choose to buy them commercially in a pack of 1000 bullets from one of 2 places that they are available in Canada. The primers I use are standard Large Rifle primers and I use Unique as my propellant which is readily available.

Most of my brass is loaded at all times but if the balloon ever went up and I chose that rifle, I would be limited to the 350 rds of .38-55 that is immediately available. If you had to leave your primary residence, what if you couldn't take your reloading kit? What if you couldn't take your dies? What if you couldn't get the specialty bullets that you require? What if you couldn't get the specialty brass that you require? Nobody knows what circumstances that would happen if the balloon ever went up, but I would prefer to have the opportunity to utilize any ammunition that I come across. I'll stick with standard calibers. Comments?

·
Registered
10,279 Posts
I love the old calibers and have reloaded for the 38-40 for several years. Have shot them in both a 1902 Colt SAA and an original Win saddle ring 1892. The 45-70 is my other old caliber. 38-40 is for fun and history. The 45-70 is for hunting and challenge. Even when I'm hunting a good Colt 45acp and a 308 or 223 are always at hand for unexpected duty. Would never carry one of the old calibers for serious duty. 9mm, 45acp, 308 and 223 are the only way to go.

RIKA

·
Banned
3,467 Posts
sounds like your fond/good

with that 38-55, if that was what i ended up with when the balloon went up!

300+rounds would be plenty[in my view]