Arms Locker banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Heres my question: What do you prefer the most, a pistol or a revolver? I myself have a .380 Hi-Point, but I still think revolvers are neat. I am not a gun expert by any means, but I will try to list some advantages to both. Feel free to ad more.

-Pistol-
(a) Can fire from pre-loaded clips.
(b) Generally holds more rounds.
(c) Should be able to fire more rounds per minute than a revolver.

-Revolver-
(a) Less moving parts. I'd assume easier to clean and possible longer range?
(b) Easier to load than a clip.
(c) Also has special loaders to load the maximum number of rounds.
(d) You don't have to pick the shells off the ground (though it takes more time ro reload.

I know I didn't cover everything. Feel free to ad anything or just to post your preference.

·
Site Founder
4,814 Posts
One of the benefits of a revolver is that you can use just about any payload you want as a projectile, and you don't have to worry about it working the action as you would in a semi-auto. You could have 6 different types of rounds in the cylinder and not have to worry a bit about how the gun will work with them. They will all fire with the pull of the trigger.

With a semi-auto, you need to make sure that any round you use is reliable in YOUR gun. Meaning it has to be able to push the slide back so the next round can be loaded off of the magazine on the return trip. If the round doesn't provide enough oomph, then you are just SOL if you need a followup shot.

Some of the original Glaser Safety Slugs I got in 9mm would not work the action of my H&K P7 at all.

I used to be a 100 percent semi-auto man, but lately I have found myself more and more interested in the revolvers. 10 years ago, I never even glanced at the darn things.

Granted you will never find a revolver as thin bodied as a semi-auto for carry purposes, but a S&W Airweight in .38 Special isn't that bad of a choice.

·
Registered
24 Posts