1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10,270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
Site Founder
4,814 Posts
To be honest, I have become more concerned about getting the solvents on my hands lately. Many materials can be carried through the skin via solvents and into the blood stream. Hate to seem like a wussy wearing rubber gloves when I clean my guns, but I am thinking seriously about doing that.... Of course, I will probably find out that what I have been doing for the past 20 years or so has already done the damage.....

·
Registered
1,484 Posts
I've often wondered if I should be wearing a cartridge mask @ my local range.

Good post Garand.

·
Registered
10,270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Actually Rich when I clean my handguns these days I wear the Surgical gloves also. It makes personal cleanup easier and you can get gloves that are resistant to many chemicals.

·
Registered
296 Posts
not sure about all the gun cleaning solvents....
when completely stripping the steel (or aluminum).....lets just say metal ...lol...of all oils prior to refinishing them or to get some of the strange stuff off of em...like one i bought at a yard sale here in AZ was covered in...red axle grease. i have gotten into the habit of using acetone and MEK (methel ethel keytone....bad stuff) i do know that the acetone allows most other chemicals to pass right through your skin. i am much more careful these days then when i 1st started out and only thought that i would do it "this one time" lol
sean

·
Registered
4,130 Posts
I often wonder if those that cast ALOT of bullets should have themselves tested for lead content in their system, if it is practicle to do so.

No flaming or joking here but I have often wondered if andy is not suffereing from some of the effects of it. Considering how much bullet casting he has claimed to do.

·
Registered
10,270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·