Arms Locker banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,062 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Recently picked up an older-model Knight disc rifle, new, and installed the conversion kit so that I can run three powder pellets instead of two safetly if I want to. I have 300-grain sabotted HP bullets. I picked up some Zeiss rings (all I had were some old non-steel Weaver-styles) and scoped with a very fine, old ("Made in WEST Germany") Zeiss scope. ML is a few weeks away. I know how to load and shoot it safetly (I am a very experienced smokeless-powder rifleman), but I am a rookie when it comes to smokepoles.

Any suggestions on a particular load-component with these rifles that works best for you?

How may rounds should I expect to get out of this rifle with Pyrodex or Triple 7 without clearning before accuracy degrades noticeably?

How much variation (ballpark of course) should I expect between a clean versus a fouled barrel?

ANY tips you guys could pass along about how to get the best performance out of this rifle, or save me time and effort in using and maintaining it, would be most appreciated.

Best,
Jon

·
Registered
1,690 Posts
Jon, I'm going to call you tomorrow about hunting. Ironically, I was planning to use a muzzleloader this year.

Triple 7 and Pyrodex are great. The big cleaning issue is with the plastic sabots. They clog up the bore after a half dozen shots, making loading harder. Just run a patch with a little spit every second shot.

American Pioneer Powder is a great new blackpowder substitute. You might try it instead of Triple 7 or Pyrodex. Also try the Power Belt bullets. They load even easier than the sabots.

Clean barrels are easy to load, but accuracy is still good with fouling.

Expect the best accuracy with around 130 grains of powder. Knights, T/C's and other scoped inlines can achieve 1 1/2 inch groups at 100 yards.

·
Registered
1,062 Posts
Discussion Starter #3