Arms Locker banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
K

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to this ruger 10/22 rifle and I would like to know what is the most powerful ammo for this rifle. and what is the biggest animal can be hunt with this ammo. thanks

·
Registered
9,117 Posts
LEGALLY hunted, realistically taken with

body shots, or using max human ingenuity to set up a 10m or less eyeball shot? Big diff, you see. A .22 rifle has problems keeping a 10 lb chuck from getting down his hole, with the best .22lr hp's available, unless hit in the spine, brain, or shoulder. With careful shots to the earhole, eye socket, or temple, at very close ranges, it can reliably stiffen a 300 lb black bear or boar. The "most powerful" is probably the Aquila Hyper velocity, which supposedly has 175 ft lbs, when fired from a rifle, but the bullet is very light for a .22, and it probably lacks the penetration needed for braining big critters reliably. That's not very much energy. Many states require that you have something like 600 or more ft lbs of energy with a round, in order to legally hunt 100 lb deer, with it, in the interest of not causing inhuman levels of suffering in the game animals. Many experienced hunters say 1000 ft lbs, at the TARGET(which might be 1/4 mile away from the hunter) is more like it. With some bullets (flat nosed, or very blunt roundnose shapes)not "fighting " air resistance very well, they might need to START with 2000 ft lbs, in order to still have 1000 ft lbs left at 1/4 mile. So your question involves a lot of variables. The .22 lr is best left to animals the size of squirrels and rabbits, if you seek to take them legally, humanely, with chest hits.

·
Registered
9,117 Posts
it's simple, really. when u dont know

about a given subject, don't ACT like u do, ASK somebody who does, that's all. :)

·
Registered
4,648 Posts
I think he was commenting on the fact that you weren't calling names more than anything else.

:devil:

·
Premium Member
1,118 Posts